World Anti-Doping Code

Clean athletes around the world rely on the World Anti-Doping Code (the Code) to protect the integrity of their sport.

First adopted in 2004, the Code is the document that harmonises regulations regarding anti-doping across all sports and all countries. The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) considers the Code to be a live document by evolving and building on the experience gained over time.

On 28 November 2011, WADA launched its second review of the Code. This included a separate review process for four of the five International Standards that operate under the Code (the Prohibited List is reviewed annually and was not subject to this process).

The review culminated with the endorsement of the revisions to the Code and International Standards at the World Conference on Doping in Sport in Johannesburg on 15 November 2013. The review resulted in 2,269 changes between the 2009 Code and the 2015 Code. Most of the revisions reflect an effort by WADA to address the increasing sophistication of doping in sport and equip anti-doping authorities with the tools to deal with these challenges.

Some of the key changes introduced to the 2015 Code include:

  • Two new anti-doping rule violations – complicity and prohibited association
  • Bans doubled to four years for intentional doping
  • Flexibility in bans in specific circumstances and involving contaminated products
  • Statutory limitation period extended to ten years
  • Greater focus on intelligence and investigations
  • Increased focus on athlete support personnel

We have posted a number of news items about the 2015 Code to highlight key changes to athletes and support personnel.

Visit the WADA website to download the Code or to read Q&As about the Code.

Read our blogs about the 2015 Code changes