Ben McDevitt AM, APM was appointed as CEO of ASADA in May 2014, bringing with him 30 years of experience in various national and international law enforcement roles.

ASADA CEO Ben McDevittBen served as a member of the Australian Federal Police (AFP) for 22 years, rising to the rank of Assistant Commissioner. He worked in a number of local, national and international policing roles, predominantly in criminal investigation areas. These included Commander of Operations for ACT Policing, General Manager for AFP National Operations and National Manager Counter Terrorism.

In 2002 Ben played a key coordination role in the Australian Police response to the Bali bombings that killed 202 people including 88 Australians. 

In May 2003, Ben was selected to plan and deploy a police-led peacekeeping operation to restore law and order to the Solomon Islands. Ben subsequently served in the Solomons as Commander of the multinational participating police force and as Deputy Commissioner of the Royal Solomon Islands Police Force. Ben was later awarded the Cross of Solomon Islands for his distinguished service.

In 2006, Ben became the Chief Executive of the CrimTrac Agency. During his five-year tenure as Chief Executive, Ben led the organisation through a significant transformation, resulting in the agency being recognised as critical to Australian law enforcement.

In January 2011, Ben joined the Australian Crime Commission (ACC) and subesquently served as the State Manager, Queensland. Ben also chaired the Australian Criminal Intelligence Forum which brings together heads of intelligence nationally to collaborate on strategic intelligence issues.

Ben holds a Masters degree in Public Policy and Administration, a Graduate Diploma in Executive Leadership and is a graduate of the Police Management Development Program and the Police Executive Leadership Program. Ben was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his work on AFP investigations into the Bali bombings of 2002. He also received an Australian Police Medal (APM) in 2004 for his service to policing and was a finalist in the 2005 Australian (ACT) of the Year awards.