Anti-Doping Rule Violation Panel

The Anti-Doping Rule Violation Panel (ADRVP) reviews ASADA's processes and all relevant evidence in a matter and makes decisions as to whether an athlete or support person possibly committed an anti-doping rule violation.

The ADRVP is an independent decision-making body that was established on 1 January 2010 under Part 5 of the ASADA Act.


Professor Andrew McLachlan —Chair

Andrew McLachlan is the Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Sydney and Concord Hospital, with expertise in clinical pharmacology and drug analysis.

He has been involved with ASADA (and its predecessor, the Australian Sports Drug Agency) since 1999.

Professor McLachlan has authored over 185 research papers related to medicines. He is actively involved in training pharmacists and other health professionals, and serves as the Chair of the Human Research Ethics Committee and on expert committees related to the evaluation of medicines.


Dr Diana Robinson — Member

Dr Diana Robinson is a practising Sport and Exercise Physician with more than 20 years of clinical experience.

She has been an Australian Team Doctor for the Commonwealth Games and was Medical Director of Triathlon at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games. She was Medical Director of Triathlon Australia from 1993 to 2002.

She has been involved with the International Triathlon Union (ITU) Doping Commission and the ITU Medical Commission. Diana has been the Chair of Training of the Australasian College of Sports Physicians, is a member of the Court of Examiners and is currently the Project Manager for the Specialist Training Programme Education Projects.

She has represented the ACSP at the EMEAC (Enhanced Medical Education Advisory Committee) and the MTRP (Medical Training Review Panel).

She has been the medical director of the Uncle Toby's Surf Life Saving Ironman Series, the Devondale Women's surf lifesaving series, the Triathlon Grand Prix, and many international World Cup and World Championship Triathlons.

She has also worked with rugby league, rugby union, track cycling, women's hockey, judo, rowing, tennis, gymnastics, sailing, ballet and modern dance at an elite level.

Diana was the Warringah Rugby Union Chief Medical Officer for seven years. Dr Robinson has an interest in women in sport and has been a member of a Ministerial Taskforce for Women in Sport and the Active Girls Role Model Programme aimed at curbing the sport drop-out rate by teenage girls.


Paul Carey – Member

Paul Carey joined the NSW Police in 1973.

In 1990, Mr Carey transferred to the Police Headquarters and performed a number of programme and policy development roles until 1994.

During 1995, he relieved as the Chief of Staff to Deputy Commissioners and the Commissioner. In 1996 he became the Patrol Commander at Manly and the following year the Local Area Commander at St Marys until his transfer to Kogarah in 1999.

Mr Carey was appointed as the Local Area Commander of City Central in 2003 and performed these duties until 2007.

During his time at City Central Mr Carey was the Operational Commander for numerous major public demonstrations, public protests and community celebrations including: ANZAC Day; New Years Eve; dignitary visits; APEC; and the Harbour Bridge 75th Anniversary.

In 2008, Mr Carey was promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioner and the Commander of Professional Standards. Mr Carey is a qualified Counter Terrorism Commander, a senior Operational Commander and has represented the NSW Police Force at a number of national and international events. Mr Carey retired from the NSW Police Force in December 2012 after almost 40 years of service.


Stuart Thorn PSM – Member

Stuart Thorn has 31 years' experience in the APS commencing as a Senior Investigator with Telecom Australia in 1983 before moving to the Attorney General's (AG) portfolio. He remained within the AG's portfolio since 1985, apart from a four-year attachment to the Department and Foreign Affairs and Trade as a Political Counselor in the Australian Embassy, Washington D.C. Mr Thorn was promoted into the SES in 1997 and has worked in various SES positions within the AG's portfolio focusing on national security issues.

He has been responsible for the management of a range of national security related investigations and the development and implementation of national security policy.

Mr Thorn retired from the APS in September 2013, having served his last seven years as a Deputy Secretary equivalent responsible for the management of four Divisions. His final role focused on the co-ordination of Commonwealth and state responses to national security threats.

In 2012, Mr Thorn was awarded the Public Service Medal for services to national security.


Professor Peter Fricker OAM – Member


Professor Peter Fricker joined the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) in 1981 as its first sports physician. In 1983, he joined the AIS as staff medical officer and was later appointed as Head of Sports Science and Sports Medicine, before becoming Deputy Director of the AIS.

From 2005 to 2011, Professor Fricker was Director of the AIS and for a short time acted as CEO of the Australian Sports Commission.

He has also served as medical officer and medical director for Australian teams to six Commonwealth Games (1986–2006) and five Olympic Games (1988–2004).

He serves as Chair of the Medical Commission of the Australian Olympic Committee, has served as Chair of the Medical Commission of the Australian Commonwealth Games Association, as a Member of ASDMAC, a Member of the National Anti-doping Research Panel, as advisor to WADA on anti-doping research, and as a member of the AFL Research Committee.

He was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 1993, the Australian Sports Medal in 2001, the Citation for Distinguished Service to Sports Medicine by the Australasian College of Sports Physicians in 2010, and the Order of Merit of the Australian Olympic Committee in 2012.

Professor Fricker is currently consulting in Sports Medicine, Sports Science, Physical Activity and Health, serves on the Boards of Robert de Castella's Smart Start for Kids and the Indigenous Marathon Project Foundation, is a Councillor of the Australian Pharmacy Council, and holds professorial appointments at Griffith University (Gold Coast), the University of Canberra and Victoria University, amongst other professional appointments.