The Australian Sports Drug Medical Advisory Committee (ASDMAC) operates as the Australian Therapeutic Use Exemption Committee.
ASDMAC provides approval for therapeutic use of prohibited substances to certain athletes if:
  • their sport's anti-doping policy allows for, or permits, the athlete to seek approval to use a medication prohibited in sport for a legitimate therapeutic purpose
  • there is no alternative and permitted therapeutic substance available that could be prescribed to treat the athlete's medical condition
  • there is no evidence that the athlete will gain a performance enhancement effect by using the substance.

Learn more about TUEs.

ASDMAC was established under section 52 of the ASADA Act and clause 5 of the NAD scheme. ASDMAC performs its functions in accordance with the World Anti-Doping Code (the Code), the International Standard for Therapeutic Use Exemptions, the ASADA Act and the NAD scheme.


Members of ASDMAC


Dr Susan White — Chair


  • Sports Physician at Olympic Park Sports Medicine Centre, Melbourne
  • Senior Lecturer, Department of Medicine and Surgery, Monash University
  • Chair, Australian Sports Drug Medical Advisory Committee
  • Member, WADA TUE (Therapeutic Use Exemptions) - Expert Group
  • Member, PGA TUE Committee
  • Advisor - Sports Medicine Australia Women in Sport Working Group
  • Anti-doping tribunal - Australian Cricket Board, Australian Football League
  • Editorial Board - Clinical Journal of Sports Medicine and British Journal of Sports Medicine
  • Medical Director, Australian Paralympic team Atlanta 1996,  Madrid 1992 (intellectually disabled)
  • Medical Executive, Melbourne Commonwealth Games 2006
  • Team Doctor, Australian Olympic team Beijing 2008
  • Medical director Australian team Youth Olympics Singapore 2010
  • Deputy Medical director Australian Olympic team London 2012


Dr Grace Bryant OAM

MBBS, Grad Dip Sports Science, FASMF, FACSP

  • Sports & Exercise Physician at Sports Medicine Sydney University and South Sydney Sports Medicine
  • Medical Officer Australian Olympic Team at Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004 , Beijing 2008 and London 2012
  • Medical Director Australian Commonwealth Games Team at Glasgow 2014, Deputy Medical Director Melbourne 2006, Beijing 2010 and Medical Officer Kuala Lumpur 1998, Manchester 2002
  • Medical Director Australian Commonwealth Games Youth Team at Samoa 2015
  • Member, Medical Commission, Australian Commonwealth Games Association
  • Member, International Netball Medical Panel
  • International Netball Medical Commissioner At Netball World Cup 2015
  • Team Physician, NSW Swifts, Australasian Netball Competition
  • Previously Chief Medical Officer Netball Australia
  • Previously Chief Medical Officer, Australian Women’s Water Polo
  • Member, Education Committee, Sports Medicine Australia (NSW Branch Member
  • Bangarra Dance – Medical Safety Committee
  • Previously President Sports Medicine Australia (NSW)
  • Awarded Australian Sports Medal 2000
  • Awarded OAM for services to Sport Medicine and Community in 2008

Dr Carolyn Broderick 


  • Staff specialist in Sport and Exercise Medicine at The Children’s Hospital  at Westmead
  • Senior lecturer in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of NSW
  • Deputy Medical Director Australian Team, Rio Olympic Games 2016
  • Medical Director of the Australian Youth Olympic Team Nanjing 2014
  • Headquarters Doctor Australian Team London Olympic Games 2012
  • Team physician Australian women’s tennis (Fed Cup) team
  • Member IOC panel on Age Determination in Elite Adolescent Athletes
  • Member Medical Advisory Panel NRL


Dr Charles Howse

BM BS, FACSP, FFESM, FAMA, Dip Forensic Med

  • Sports Physician in a private practice
  • Chief Medical Officer, Australian Men’s Volleyball Team
  • Member, Australian Institute of Sport Ethics Committee


Dr Anik Shawdon - Member

MBBS, FACSP, Dip Sports Med (Lond)

  • Sport and Exercise Physician, Brighton, Victoria
  • Talent Pathway Medical Officer, AFL
  • Academy Sports Physician, AFL
  • Player Sports Physician, Australian Open Tennis
  • Independent Medical Advisor, Big Bash League
  • Member Australian Football League Tribunal (anti-doping)
  • Member ICC TUEC


Dr Geoffrey Thompson 


  • Sports Physician at Territory Sportsmedicine
  • Chief Medical Officer, Australian Paralympic Team
  • Medical Director, Central Australian Masters Games
  • Tennis Australia – Northern Territory
  • Cricket Australia – Northern Territory
  • Medical Officer – Territory Thunder AFL (NEAFL)


Dr Larissa Trease — Member

BMedSci(Hons) MBBS(Hons) FACSP

  • Principal Medical Officer for Rowing Australia
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine Physician based (Melbourne)
  • Team Doctor for the 2014 Australian Olympic Winter Team (Sochi Games)
  • Medical Director of the 2012 Australia Youth Olympic Winter Team
  • Chief Medical Officer for the Australian Paralympic Team (2008 Beijing Games)
  • Member of the Oceania National Olympic Committees Medical Commission


Review panel members

The ASDMAC Review Panel is separate body to the Primary ASDMAC Members. The Review Panel was established in 2015 under the new WADA code and provides a process for athletes to appeal a rejection of their TUE by the ASDMAC Members, under strict criteria described by WADA in the International Standard Therapeutic Use Exemption (ISTUE). The ASDMAC Review Panel currently consist of Dr Peter Harcourt, Dr Andrew Potter and Dr Mark Young .

Dr Peter Harcourt OAM


  • Chair, Commonwealth Games Federation TUE Committee
  • Chair, Australian Commonwealth Games Association Medical Commission
  • Chief Medical Officer, Basketball Australia
  • Anti-Doping Medical Officer, Cricket Australia
  • Chair, International Cricket Council Therapeutic Use Exemption Committee
  • AFL Medical Director
  • Senior Fellow, Faculty of Law, Melbourne University
  • Member, International Golf Federation TUE Committee
  • Member, Commonwealth Games Medical Commission
  • Chair, FIBA Medical Commission
  • Member, FIBA TUE Committee
  • Chair, WADA TDSSA Expert Group


Dr Andrew Potter 


  • Sport & Exercise Medicine Physician at Orthopaedics SA
  • President, AFL Doctors Officers Association
  • Coordinator, Sports Medicine in General Practice, for   SMA-SA​
  • Member, Advisory Board of the AFL Players Association


Dr Mark Young


  • Sports Physician at Qsports Medicine in Brisbane
  • Chief Medical Officer of the Australian Triathlon Team, The Australian Diving Team, and the Australian Softball Team
  • Team Physician to the Queensland Bulls Cricket Team and the Queensland Heat Cricket Team
  • Was Medical Director (QLD) to the Cricket World Cup 2015
  • Team Doctor to the Brisbane Roar Football Club
  • ACSP Registrar Training Supervisor
  • Member of the ACSP Cultural Competency Committee
  • Senior Honorary Research Fellow in musculoskeletal stem cell therapies at the Mater Medical Research Institute, Brisbane
  • Honorary Research Fellow at the Stem Cell Laboratory, Translational Research Institute (QUT), Brisbane